Late Nights and the Invisible Girl

Hi everyone! Sorry for posting so late at night, Desdemona was supposed to post tonight but she skipped out on us to go camping (but we won’t fault her that, it’s a beautiful October weekend)! This was kind of written on the fly because I’d forgotten that I was supposed to be covering, which is why it’s a poem (a really awful one) instead of my usual short stories. 

For anyone who is interested, I’ll just put it out there again that we do accept story requests (Nothing NSFW, please, we are still in school after all), and you guys can drop those off in our “Contact Us” page, along with your email and we’ll let you know when it’s been posted. Onward and upward, cha? 

It is nighttime here, the clock reads “late”,

Mine is the only light still glowing softly, softly

It’s lonely here and my heart plays fate,

Begging for another chance to roll the dice

A gamble for my sanity

(How far can I go before I fall

From the sky?)

How much punishment can I endure,

Until I break down and die?

The schoolbooks scream my name while GPA beats its vicious drum

And late night studying leaves me listless and numb

(Maybe that’s just the way I want to be)

While friends long kept at arm’s length clamor to know what’s wrong.

I’m so trapped here,

A rebel

Without a cause.

A moth lacking wings,

An inventor, things,

And the songs a bird sings

(Throwing myself against the glass).

I’m vanishing.

Do you

See

Me?

(Or am I in a perpetual state of being invisible until you need something and I appear

Like a miracle?)

I’m so paper thin,

So paper light

(But I still can’t

Fly away)

It would only

Take

A

Spark

To free me.

Free me, love.

Light me up. I want to shine so everyone is forced to see

Me.

Forced to see what their words, their ignorance has created,

The ugliness of their wayward words,

And what they have caused by casually walking through me,

(As though I was nothing more than a ghost to them).

Can you be strong enough,

For my

Goodbye?

Published by

Kalsooni

Hey! Kalsooni Allskye here, sometimes known as Cattydragon. To introduce myself ... I'm generally a very sarcastic person prone to sudden musings in the middle of dull conversations as well as that mad dash for some paper and pen when a sudden idea hits. I enjoy a great deal of music and reading, but I don't so much enjoy social outing. So there you go! A bit 'bout me.

Leave a Reply

