This is How I Would Say Goodbye if You Would Just Give Me the Chance

Good evening dearest readers 

It’s been a while since I’ve last posted, life has been busy for me (but then again, isn’t it always?) I thank all of the faithful readers who come back time and time again despite our erratic posting schedule and all the new readers for giving us a little piece of their day! 

Life has also been rather … stressful, per say, especially as of late; hence the angsty poetry. If this isn’t really your thing- so sorry. A real short story is coming soon, there’s one currently in progress! 

I can feel you forgetting me,

As if forgetting is some sort of tangible thing-

Like the surgical removal of a heart, still beating,

And bloody.

You keep running from me, pouring salt over the wound

Every time you force me into nonexistence

As your gaze settles anywhere but on me.

Dear-

Love, we had it so good,

You and me, me and you,

The both of us – two traitors against the rest of the world.

Traitors.

What a funny word to use.

Because that’s what we are, isn’t it, dearest?

We knew this was coming, we were braced for the fall,

What happened to my steady resolve-

To play your game and come out on top?

I was afraid to fall for you,

You promised you would catch me.

Funny story here:

You lied.

But still, you haven’t said goodbye,

Slowly stringing me along.

And even though it hurts, aches, it burns,

I let you.

I let you and I wait,

Like a dog waiting for his master to come home,

Undying devotion-

Blindness.

Stupidity.

I’m naive, so what?

Being naive in a vicious world is a precious thing-

But it’s killing me.

So many things I wish I could say to you,

So many words I don’t want left unsaid-

But this-

This is how I would say goodbye if you would just give me the chance.

 

Published by

Kalsooni

Hey! Kalsooni Allskye here, sometimes known as Cattydragon. To introduce myself ... I'm generally a very sarcastic person prone to sudden musings in the middle of dull conversations as well as that mad dash for some paper and pen when a sudden idea hits. I enjoy a great deal of music and reading, but I don't so much enjoy social outing. So there you go! A bit 'bout me.

Leave a Reply

