Before-After, Going-Gone, Me-You

Good afternoon viewers! My lack of posting has saddened me greatly. I have so much writing just sort of tucked away now, waiting for me to find the time to edit it. I’ve been debating the usefulness of these “introductions” to pieces and whether or not I should do away with them completely … it just feels sort of impersonal to fling a work out there without a few thoughts, and so much of the internet is entirely impersonal … anyway! If you view this work and have an opinion about author notes before the piece, drop me a comment! I’d like to know what you guys think. And without further ado, my first piece after a several week hiatus. 

Oh darling,

The sky cried today for you and me,

and all the things that we couldn’t be.

All the wishes we made turned to a gentle soak ,

the pain in my eye, the promise you broke.

Darling, will you watch me fly,

sky-ward, distant, falling in love,

with the moon n’ stars n’ galaxy above.

Darling, oh darling, can you hear me cry

my pain to the world and a jet-black sky-

as two o’clock loneliness arrives with a sigh.

It stays floating ’round my bed

’till it gets past my lips and into my head,

and the monsters they scream and they rage

because you gave them the key to their iron wrought cage

for the job of loving me paid too low a wage-

so you up and decided to turn a new page.

My darling-

My darling. You never loved me true,

but the only man I ever loved was the only man named you.

Leave a Reply

